Tim Deaton is the Executive Director of the Appalachian Arts Alliance. He attended Morehead State University, where he studied Music and Theatre Education. He comes to the Appalachian Arts Alliance with 20 plus years of experience in the performing arts. He has performed in numerous Musicals, Operas and Choral ensembles across the United States and internationally. He is heavily involved in the community here in his hometown, Hazard and Perry County and was awarded “Young Man of the Year” in 2018. Tim is also a public relations juggernaut, with extensive experience in planning and hosting events, fundraising, vending and exhibiting, decorating and public speaking. In his previous role as the Events Coordinator at Horizen, he led the campaigns for multiple fundraising galas, ribbon cuttings, corporate events and weddings. Tim also served as the Technical Director and assistant to the director of the Greater Hazard Area Performing Arts Series, which eventually merged with AppalArts. These experiences serve him well in his current role. With his extreme passion for the arts and love for his community, he works tirelessly to discover and provide quality arts education and programming opportunities. Tim’s goal is to ceaselessly promote appreciation for the rich arts heritage of our region, thereby preserving it for future generations. 

Staff & Board of Directors

Jake East is the Programming Coordinator of Appalachian Arts Alliance. He studied Music and Arts Entrepreneurship at Morehead State University where he served as principal euphonium for the Tuba/Euphonium Studio and Symphonic Band. He has performed across the United States and internationally in 7 countries with those groups and others, including the now inactive Guerrilla Chamber Collective which he founded and operated. Before working at AppalArts he served as an AmeriCorps VISTA for 2 years at Redbud Financial Alternatives, also in Hazard, KY- his hometown. Jake loves the Arts in all its forms and loves providing access to opportunities he and others did not have growing up in his rural hometown. 

Board of Directors

 Bailey Richards, Chair

Frank Morris, Vice Chair

Margaret Keith, Treasurer

Luke Glaser, Secretary

Zoe Pennington, Student Representative

Holly Lindon

Charles Boggs

Emily Whitaker

Frances Everage